28 companies force for Darjeeling polls

Darjeeling, April 15: Around 28 companies of the central paramilitary forces comprising of 14 BSF companies and 7 companies of Mizoram State Armed Police will be deployed in Darjeeling District for the 16th Lok Sabha polls on April 17, District Magistrate Puneet Yadav said on Tuesday.

28 companies force for Darjeeling polls
Forces arrives at Darjeeling for polls

Of the 28 companies 21 has been deployed in the Hills and remaining seven in the Siliguri Sub Division. Nine companies of CRPF are already present in the hills. “Besides that we have 21 Central paramilitary forces. The CRPF however will not be utilized for any election duty but will continue with their normal law and order duty since there is a threat. They will be performing their regular duties which they have been doing since last six months” said Akhilesh Chaturvedi, SP Darjeeling.

The paramilitary forces will be deployed as per the premises classified.
“The administration on the basis of ECI Guidelines, the deployment of the police personnel has been done premise wise. The premises have been classified as normal, critical and hyper critical premise” added the SP.

“Normal premise will be manned by 2 armed personnel and one lathi, critical premises will have 4 constable and lathi and hyper critical premises will have half section of Central Armed Police Force and one constable with lathi” informed the SP.

Of 951 premises in Darjeeling, 302 premises will be manned by CAPF, the rest will be manned by the State Police Personnel and all the premises will be manned by the armed guard.

“Besides, Darjeeling District Administration have imposed section 144 in an around all the polling stations prohibiting the assembling of more than 5 persons within 200 metres” informed the District Magistrate Puneet Yadav.

The poll to be held on Thursday will have the deployment of more than eight thousand polling personnel across six segments under Darjeeling District and Chopra which comes under Uttar Dinajpur District.

There are 1633 polling station in the District of which 1153 comes under the Darjeeling SP and 480 under the Commissioner of Police, Siliguri. Besides under Chopra there are 196 polling stations where 4 companies of the forces have been deployed.

Darjeeling constituency has seven segments of which 6 falls under Darjeeling District and the Chopra under Utter Dinajpur District.

More than 14 lacs voters are eligible to cast their vote on April 17 to choose amongst 13 candidates who are in the fray for the next MP.

Indian Gorkhas

Share this:

Copyright © 2024 Indian Gorkhas Designed by Darjeeling Web Solutions