Darjeeling District TMC Committee formed by Mamata Banerjee

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee at a meeting on Friday officially formed the party’s Darjeeling District Committee and Darjeeling Hill Committee. Informing about the meeting, the newly reappointed TMC Darjeeling hill committee president Rajen Mukhia said the party’s Darjeeling district committee will have Gautam Dev as President, while Bhaichung Bhutia, Nantu Pal and Alok Chakrabarty will function as working presidents. The TMC hill committee will have former Kurseong MLA Shanti Chettri as working president, he added.

TMC Darjeeling hill committee president Rajen Mukhi
TMC Darjeeling hill committee president Rajen Mukhi

The TMC president has also directed the newly appointed leaders to provide a complete report on the district and hill committees to the party’s national general secretary Mukul Rai by June 14.

Mukhia said, “The two committees were formed in preparation to the state assembly elections in 2016. The amount of votes received by Bhutia during the Lok Sabha election has projected the party as the second strongest front in the region and we want to improve that further to attain the top position.” The party president is happy with the performance in the hill and has directed the two committees to strengthen the support-base further ahead of the assembly elections, Mukhia added.

Source: EOI

Share this:

Copyright © 2024 Indian Gorkhas Designed by Darjeeling Web Solutions