Gorkha shooter Jitu Rai conferred Arjuna Award 2015

Aug 29, 2015: Gorkha shooter Jitu Rai was today conferred Arjuna award. He received the prestigious award from, Pranab Mukherjee, the president of India in a glittering ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. The Arjuna Awards are given by the government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports.

Gorkha shooter Jitu Rai conferred Arjuna award 2015
Gorkha shooter Jitu Rai conferred Arjuna award 2015

28-year-old Champion pistol shooter Jitu Rai,had won an Indian record seven medals starting June last year, the most recent being the bronze in 10-metre air pistol event at the ISSF World Cup in South Korea last month.

Recruited in the 11th battalion of the Gorkha regiment, Rai clinched the gold medals at the 2014 Commonwealth and Asian Games and a silver at the ISSF World Championships in Spain, which helped him earn a quota place for next year’s Rio Olympic Games.

In all, the (retired) Justice V K Bali led panel had recommended 17 names for Arjuna.

Following is the complete list of names of Arjuna Arjuna awardees 2015

  1. Manjeet Chhillar -Kabaddi Award
  2. Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre – Kabaddi Award
  3. S andeep Kumar – Archery Award
  4. Sreejesh Ravindran – Hockey Award
  5. Rohit Sharma – Cricket Award
  6. Sawarn Singh – Rowing Award
  7. M. R. Poovamma – Athletics Award
  8. Jitu Rai – Shooting Award
  9. Srikanth Kidambi – Badminton Award
  10. Anup Kumar Yama – Arjuna Award for Roller Skating
  11. Yumnam Sanathoi Devi – Wushu Award
  12. Mandeep Jangra – Boxing Award
  13. Sathish Sivalingam – Weightlifting Award
  14. Bajrang Kumar – Wrestling Award
  15. Dipa Karmakar – Gymnastics Award
  16. Babita Kumari – Wrestling Award
  17. Sharath Gayakwad -Arjuna Award for Para-Swimming

The Arjuna awardees received statuettes, certificates and award money of Rs.5 lakh each.

Share this:

Copyright © 2024 Indian Gorkhas Designed by Darjeeling Web Solutions